Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Cecil Rosner visits Washington Square Park in 2000

Cecil Rosner visits Washington Square Park to take on the chess hustlers: part of a segment on CBC's It's a Living Show in 2000.

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - November 29, 2014

from the Winnipeg Free Press
Withe to mate in 2 (Funk)

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Earl Rosenbloom 1948 - 2014

Earl Rosenbloom passed away last Sunday. He won the  Manitoba Junior and Manitoba Open.
More later, after I research some old tournaments.|DESC,last_name|ASC/

Jack Boardman - 1930 - 2014

Jack Boardman passed away in October.  The obituary indicates that he was President of one of our associations; Keith Czarny seems to think that was in the 80's.
I met Jack at the old Winnipeg Chess Club (on Selkirk), probably around 1973 or so. More later, if I find anything in old CFC magazines.|DESC,last_name|ASC,first_name|ASC/

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - November 15, 2014

from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to mate in 2 (Funk)

2014 November Quads have been rated by the CFC

Mick Liebzeit  and Jim Green won their respective Quads.

Please see the crosstables here and here.

Congratulations to the following who achieved new established peak ratings:

Mick Liebzeit  1947
Jim Green       1888
Jason Evans    1515

Sunday, November 23, 2014

2015 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

2015 Manitoba Championship Qualifying Update

2015 Manitoba Championship Qualifying -

Manitoba Closed 2015 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2013 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On November 23, 2014, the Board approved continuation of this procedure for 2015) 

Qualifiers -
Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2014 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player did not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continued down the list until there were 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (KEVIN LI)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (non scheduled this year thus far)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900) to be determined
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (KEVIN GENTES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Nov-Dec)tbd
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score)
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score)
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (SAM LIPNOWSKI (on tiebreak)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS 
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS 
    12. etc.from the MTPPS

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The current top MTPPS scores as of Novemeber 21. are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all Manitoba CFC Standard rated tournaments, Canadian Open,  USCF Tournaments, Polish FIDE tournaments ) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

Kevin Gentes 23807
Kevin Li
Samuel Lipnowski 22572
Jonathon Zaczek 22571
Jeff Babb
Gustav Baron 22214
Leor Wasserman 22210
Felix Andraschko 21960
Anthony Boron 21762
Theo Wolchock 21655
Jeff Clark
Myron Kernetsky 21315
Gustavo Melamedoff 21306
Blair Rutter 21182
James Atem 21147
Waldemar Schulz 20768
Isaac Wiebe 20101
Rolando Bince 19987
Jim Green

Saturday, November 22, 2014

Ken Einarsson ties for first in Bloomington (MN) U1800

Ken scored 4.5 to tie for first in the Bloomington Open Reserve (U1800) section in Minnesota, Nov 8-10.
See the crosstable 2014 Bloomington Open.  Jim Green participated in the Open section. Jim and Ken tell me that the organizers plan to have the 2015 edition a couple of weeks earlier, so that should lessen the chances of travellers encountering a blizzard as they did this year.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Kevin Li has won the 2014 Manitoba Closed

 Kevin Li has won the 2014 Manitoba Closed.  He won the final match, Saturday, November 15 1.5 -.5 over Chandrashekhar Iyer.

The CFC has rated the 2014 Manitoba Closed.