Saturday, November 24, 2012

2013 Manitoba Championship Qualifying

8 player knockout
Qualifiers -
Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2012 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player did not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continued down the list until there were 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (TREVOR VINCENT)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (2012 Albert Boxer Memorial, KEVIN GENTES)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900) either Kevin Li or Leor Wasserman
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (Fletcher Baragar, but currently only 5 games played)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Nov-Dec)
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score)
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score)
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Jeff Babb, Jason Repa)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS 
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS 
    12. etc.from the MTPPS

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The current top MTPPS scores are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all Manitoba CFC Standard rated tournments, Canadian Open, Canadian Youth, Canadian Junior, US National Open.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

Top Standings before 2012 TOC and 2013 Memorial

Score Lowest result
Kevin Li 23802 2285
Jeff Babb 23088 2209
Aron Kaptsan 22533 2208
Nilo Moncal 22390 2191
Leor Wasserman 22149 2085
Myron Kernetsky 21514 2042
Rolando Bince 21323 2039
Les Mundwiler 21303 2054
Sam Cleto 21259 1961
Anthony Boron 21199 2056
Gustavo Melamedoff 21178 1923
Samuel Lipnowski 20896 1720
Michael Pang 20829 1874

No comments: