Thursday, April 6, 2017

2017 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

2017 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying -
Manitoba Closed 2017 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2014 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On February 26, 2017, the Board approved a regulation that bidders for the wild-card spots must have a standard rating greater than 1800.) 

Qualifiers -
Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2016 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (ARVIN DAWA)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  - THEO WOLCHOCK)
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (if Standard time control)(not held)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (KEVIN GENTES not resident, MARCOS VALENTINO, BLAIR RUTTER
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (ISAAC WIEBE
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (ROLANDO BINCE
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (n/a)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (ANTHONY BORON )
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (Theo Wolchock )
    12.  Player with the 5th best MTPPS (Blair Rutter )
13.  Player with the 6th best MTPPS (JEFF BABB)
13.  Player with the 7th best MTPPS (GUSTAV BARON)

The above players (in bold) will be contacted in early 2017 to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.

UPDATE: April 22  1130 pm

Confirmed participants:
JEFF BABB        2216
ISAAC WIEBE         2196


MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted

The 2017 top MTPPS scores are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all Manitoba CFC Standard rated tournaments, US standard rated tournaments, International FIDE standard rated tournaments etc.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

Isaac Wiebe 22941
Rolando Bince 22649
Anthony Boron 22461
Theo Wolchock 21801
Blair Rutter 21695
Jeff Babb 21467
Arvin Dawa 21211
Gustav L Baron 21034
Saul Magnusson 20935
Jeff Clark 20900
Myron Kernetsky 20601
Marcos Valentino 20562
Will Bonness 20404
Jaroslaw Czypinski 19872
Jim Green 19834
James Atem 18895
Ken Einarsson 18350
Cory Letain 18190

No comments: