Monday, January 7, 2019

2019 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

2019 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update  Manitoba Closed 2019 format : 8 player Round Robin

Qualifiers -
*Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2018 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (ISAAC WIEBE)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  -THEO WOLCHOCK)
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (JOJO NONES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Jack Woodbury Memorial - to be held in Nov - Dec ) Isaac Wiebe -already qualified, GUSTAV BARON 
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Isaac Wiebe -already qualified
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Jojo Nones - already qualified ) 
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Wiebe -already qualified, Wolchock-already qualified, RYNE SWIFT)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (Gustav Baron - see above)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (Theo Wolchock - see above)

    12.  Player with the 5th best MTPPS (JEFF BABB )

13.  Player with the 6th best MTPPS (DEREK MA )

14.  Player with the 7th best MTPPS (ANTHONY BORON)
15. Player with the 8th best MTPPS (Rolando Bince)
16.  Player with the 9th best MTPPS (Blair Rutter)

The above players (in bold) will be contacted in early 2019 to determine their willingness to participate in the Round-Robin.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below. 

Update; Feb 28 -  All above in bold have confirmed their participation, except Ryne Swift who declined; Rolando Bince has accepted as next in line.


2018  MTPPS scores:

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted

The 2018 top MTPPS scores at this point are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all CFC Standard rated tournaments, US standard rated tournaments, International FIDE standard rated tournaments etc.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

24803 10 Isaac Wiebe
23548 10 Teodulfo II Nones
2354310 Gustav L Baron
22731 10 Theo Wolchock
22444 10 Jeff Babb
22219 10 Derek Ma
21438 10 Anthony Boron
20623 10 Rolando Bince
2056510 Blair Rutter
20187 10 Oyeyemi A Abioye
2004710 Colin Prince
19865  9 Ryne Swift

No comments: