Monday, December 16, 2019

2020 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

2020 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

2020 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update  Manitoba Closed 2020 format : 8 player Round Robin
Qualifiers -
*Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)
Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2019 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.
     1. Previous Year's Champion (ISAAC WIEBE)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  -WOLCHOCK - already qualified)
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (THEO WOLCHOCK)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Jack Woodbury Memorial) - Theo Wochock, ROLANDO BINCE )
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (WOLCHOCK - already qualified
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (WIEBE - already qualified
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (DEREK MA)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (MA - already qualified)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (GUSTAV BARON)

    12.  Player with the 5th best MTPPS (YEMI ABIOYE )

13.  Player with the 6th best MTPPS (Bince- already qualified )

14.  Player with the 7th best MTPPS (COLIN PRINCE)
15. Player with the 8th best MTPPS (ANTHONY BORON)
16.  Player with the 9th best MTPPS (Jaro Czypinski)
The above players (in bold) will be contacted in early 2020 to determine their willingness to participate in the Round-Robin.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below. 

2019  MTPPS scores  including 2019 Jack Woodbury Memorial.  (Note: Some of Wiebe's USCF tournaments were not calculated as they were irrelevant for qualification as he had already qualified as 2019 Manitoba Champion).

Total Name
23440 Theo Wolchock
23202 Isaac Wiebe
22780 Derek Ma
22210 Gustav L Baron
22010 Yemi Abioye
21558 Rolando Bince
21483 Colin Prince
20998 Anthony Boron
20639 Jaroslaw Czypinski
20201 Harshani Konara
20044 Cory Letain
19574 Jim Green
19566 Blair Rutter

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]
The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The 2019 top MTPPS scores at this point are as follows: Calculations in progress
(Tournaments scored included all CFC Standard rated tournaments, International FIDE standard rated tournaments etc. - Note that Wiebe's score would be much higher if USCF events had been calcualted, but it is moot as he is alreay qualified) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

No comments: