Monday, April 25, 2016

2016 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update

 Update April 25:
The final 8 re-sorted based on Jan 1. ratings according to the regulations are:
Baron Gustav 2197
Dawa Arvin 2161
Clark Jeff 2057
Bince Rolando 1976
Boron Anthony 1951
Wolchock Theo 1950
Prince Colin 1920
Ma Derek 1891

 The pairings for the quarterfinals are:

Update: April 24 - Arvin Dawa and Derek Ma won the second games of their matches, winning both matches.

Update: April 9 - Arvin Dawa and Derek Ma won the first games of their matches, both having White.

Update: Feb 24  -   Gustav Baron, Theo Wolchock, Rolando Bince, Anthony Boron, James Atem, and Colin Prince, Jeff Clark Derek Ma have confirmed their entry. Kevin Gentes, Isaac Wiebe, Jeff Babb, Leor Wasserman have declined. We will give Marcos Valentino a deferral to 2017.

Jim Green and Ethan Eckert were successful in were successful for the at-large bids. Update, April 5: Jim has had to withdraw due to medical issues.  Arvin Dawa will replace Jim.

The play-in round will consist of the following match pairings:

Derek Ma vs. Ethan Eckert
James Atem vs.Arvin Dawa

the first named will have choice of colour in Game 1.

2016 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying -
Manitoba Closed 2016 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2014 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On November 23, 2014, the Board approved continuation of this procedure for 2015 forward) 

Qualifiers -
Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2015 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (KEVIN GENTES)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  - 
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (Kevin Gentes)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (GUSTAV BARON, ISAAC WIEBE
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Kevin Gentes) 
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Isaac Wiebe) 
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Jeff Babb, Moncal, Baron tied for 2nd, Moncal has only played 4 games)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (Gustav Baron)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (Marcos Valentino)
    12. etc.from the MTPPS  (Anthony Boron, Theo Wolchock, Rolando Bince)

The above players will be contacted in early January 2016 to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The current top MTPPS scores as of November 1. are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all Manitoba CFC Standard rated tournaments, Canadian Closed,  Montreal Open, National Open, World Open, Millionare Open, etc.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

Name Perf
Kevin Gentes 23950
Isaac Wiebe 22984
Gustav L Baron 22531
Marcos Valentino 22135
Anthony Boron 21761
Theo Wolchock 21638
Rolando Bince 21617
Myron Kernetsky 21463
Leor Wasserman 21447
Jeff Clark 21134
James Atem 20820
Colin Prince 20772
Derek Ma 20661
Waldemar Schulz 20638
Jim Green 20521
Blair Rutter 20465
Brock Beach 20231
Jamie Campbell 19909

No comments: