Thursday, September 26, 2019

2019 October TNT and 2019 Manitoba Senior (over 50) start Tuesday, October 1

Two tournaments running in parallel

2019 October TNT - CFC (Chess Federation of Canada) rated.

2019 Manitoba Senior (over 50) Chess Championship   - CFC (Chess Federation of Canada) rated.

Entrants for the Senior must be born before October 1, 1969.

$ 20 entry fee – Prizes will be based on entries.
Location: University of Winnipeg – Rm 4CM42
5 rounds – 1 game on each of October 1,8,15, 22, 29 –
(This is not a knockout tournament, players will play all 5 rounds) (Players may take up to 1 half-point and any number of zero-point byes.
Half-point byes for round 5 must be requested before Round 3.
Please note that we intend to start the first round at 7:00 p.m. sharp.
There is one game per week. All of the TNTs are Swiss (pairing) style tournaments with a time control of G /105 minutes plus a five-second increment from move 1. [Each player has 1 hour 45 minutes to complete their moves, the game will be be approx. 3 hours and 40 minutes maximum].
Start time is 7:00 pm -$ 20 entry fee and CFC membership required.
All players must be CFC members (can be obtained during registration on-site)[$ 20 for a one-tournament adult membership or $ 25 for 12 months- new adult members pay $ 25 for a twelve-month CFC membership, or $ 16 for a one-tournament membership]Junior (under 20) members pay $ 10 for a one-tournament membership, $ 17 for a twelve-month CFC membership, new junior members pay only $ 17 for a twelve month CFC membership, or $ 8 for a one-tournament membership]
Registration for tournament -Tuesday, October 1 - approximately 6:35 pm to 6:50 pm
Registration will be cut off at 6:50 pm. Tournament Director will be  . Contact at 204-  or email chessmanitoba at
Players can join in Round 2, they will receive a half-point bye for Round 1. Location: University of Winnipeg - Rm 4CM42
Getting to 4CM42:  (written by Mark Jenkins) Location is room 4CM42 in Centennial Hall at the University of Winnipeg. This room is a bit tricky to get to because the escalators only go to the 4th floor and do not go to the 4CM mezzanine level. Give yourself time to find the room. Either  take the Centennial Hall elevator direct to the 4CM level, or take the Lockhart Hall (Ellice entrance) elevator to level 5 and cross over from the Lockhart level 5 to Centennial Hall 4CM (note, this elevator isn't always available) or take the escalators to the 4th floor and then use the stairs between the escalator and library to reach the 4CM level.

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

The CFC has rated the 2019 September TNT

see the crosstable here:

Congratulation to the following who achieved new peak established ratings:

Udaya Annakkage 1818
Ken Marshall 1544

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - September 21, 2019

from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to move and mate in 2 (Funk)
1. Ng3

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - September 7, 2019

from the Saturday Free Press
White to move and mate in 3 (Funk).
1. Nd3

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

The CFC has rated the 2019 Abe Yanofsky Memorial

See the Open Crosstable here:

See the U1800 Crosstable here:

Congratulations to the following who achieved new peak established ratings:

Theo Wolchock 2238
Derek Ma  2223
Gilbert  Perez 1917
Ethan Eckert 1793  (+173)
Aibike Myrzaibraimova 1606
Zachary Piche 1590

Sunday, September 1, 2019

2019 Abe Yanofsky Memorial results

Theo Wolchock won the 2019 Abe Yanofsky Memorial Open with 4.5 points, ceding only a draw to fellow junior Derek Ma in Round 2. Ma finished 2nd with 4 points;, his other draw was with current Manitoba Champion Isaac Wiebe in Round 4. Yemi Abioye finished 3rd with 3.5, upsetting Wiebe in the final round.

James Currie won top U2000 with 3 points, followed by Jordan Constantino (Kwiatek) and Gilbert Perez who shared 2nd U2000 with 2.5 points.

Ethan Eckert dominated the U1800 section, winning with a perfect score. Al MacPherson finished 2nd with 4 points. Aibike Myrzaibraimova won top U1600 with 3.5 points, followed by 2nd U1600 shared by Carter Marshall, Ken Marshall, Zachary Piche, and Ievgeniia-Diana Furda, all with 3 points.

Top U1400 was shared by newcomers Noah Monk and Marcel Lemay, both with 3 points.