Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

2018 South Saskatchewan tournament sections have been rated by the CFC

Congratulations to the following who achieved new peak established ratings:

Gustav Baron  2216
Isaac Wiebe 2280
Ethan Eckert 1607

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - February 10, 2018

from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to mate in 2 (Loyd)

Saturday, February 10, 2018

2018 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update

2018 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update  Manitoba Closed 2018 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2014 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On February 26, 2017, the Board approved a regulation that bidders for the wild-card spots must have a standard rating greater than 1800.) 

Qualifiers -
*Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2017 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (GUSTAV BARON)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  -THEO WOLCHOCK)
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (JOJO NONES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Earl Rosenbloom Memorial - to be held in Nov - Dec) RYNE SWIFT, MYRON KERNETSKY
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (ISAAC WIEBE
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Gustav Baron - already qualified ) 
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Isaac Wiebe -already qualified)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (Ryne Swift - already qualified)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (Jojo Nones - see above)
    12.  Player with the 5th best MTPPS (JEFF BABB )
13.  Player with the 6th best MTPPS (TONY BORON )
14.  Player with the 7th best MTPPS (Theo Wolchock-see above)
15. Player with the 8th best MTPPS (Marcos Valentino)
16.  Player with the 9th best MTPPS (Rolando Bince)

The above players (in bold) will be contacted in early 2018 to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.


Myron Kernetsky

A notice soliciting  wild-card bids will be sent out the weekend of January 13

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted

The 2018 top MTPPS scores at this point are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all CFC Standard rated tournaments, US standard rated tournaments, International FIDE standard rated tournaments etc.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.
23403 Isaac Wiebe
22988 Gustav L Baron
22887 Ryne Swift
22638 Teodulfo Nones
22626 Jeff Babb
22541 Anthony Boron
22326 Theo Wolchock
21923 Marcos Valentino
21634 Rolando Bince
21108 Blair Rutter
20878 Myron Kernetsky
20480 Jim Green
19819 Saul Magnusson
19770 Ken Einarsson
19431 Joshua Gerona

2018 Manitoba Closed Pairings

1. JOJO NONES 2321
3. RYNE SWIFT 2214
4. JEFF BABB 2205
7. THEO WOLCHOCK 2054    
8. TONY BORON 2021

 Quarter finals:
A - Nones vs. Boron
B - Wiebe vs. Wolchock
C - Swift vs. Valentino
D - Babb vs.  Baron


E - Winner A vs Winner D
F - Winner B vs.  Winner C


Winner E vs Winner F

Saturday, February 3, 2018

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - January 27, 2018

from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to move and mate in 2 (Loyd)

Cecil's Saturday Puzzle - January 13, 2018

from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to move and mate in 3 (Loyd)

Thursday, February 1, 2018

2018 February TNT starts Tuesday, February 6

Chess Federation of Canada rated  -  CFC membership required (see below)
$ 15 entry fee - Prizes will be based on entries.
Location: University of Winnipeg - Rm 4CM42
4 rounds - 1 game on each of February 6,13,20,27 -
(This is not a knockout tournament, players will play all 4 rounds) (Players may take up to 1 half-point and any number of zero-point byes.
-point byes for round 4 must be requested before Round 2.
Please note that we intend to start the first round at 7:00 p.m. sharp.
There is one game per week.
All of the TNTs are Swiss (pairing) style tournaments with a time control of G /110 minutes [Each player has 1 hour 50 minutes to complete their moves, the game will be be approx. 3 hours and 40 minutes maximum].
We will also be using FIDE Rule Appendix G.4 for situations with players having under 2 minutes remaining.
Start time is 7:00 pm -$ 15 entry fee and CFC membership required.
All players must be CFC members (can be obtained during registration on-site)[$ 20 for a one-tournament adult membership or $ 49 for 12 months- new adult members pay only $ 36 for a twelve-month CFC membership, or $ 16 for a one-tournament membership]Junior (under 20) members pay $ 10 for a one-tournament membership, $ 34 for a twelve-month CFC membership, new junior members pay only $ 24 for a twelve month CFC membership, or $ 8 for a one-tournament membership]
Registration for tournament -Tuesday, February 6 - approximately 6:35 pm to 6:50 pm
Registration will be cut off at 6:50 pm.
Tournament Director will be Tony Boron .Contact at 204-798-9464 or

Players can join in Round 2, they will receive a half-point bye for Round 1. Location: University of Winnipeg - Rm 4CM42 Easiest way to get there is to take the elevator at the north end (Ellice) to the 5th Floor(if that Elevator is operating) Otherwise, there is an elevator just to the west of the old Bookstore location. Our goal is to start the first round at 7:00 p.m. sharp.