Thursday, April 21, 2011

9th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Tournament - August 5-7

2011 9th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Chess Tournament
University of Winnipeg 
Convocation Hall
$ 2,500 total Prize Fund Guaranteed !

Full information at :

Soviet-born grandmaster Alex Yermolinsky, a two-time U.S. champion, has already confirmed his attendance. Indications are good that two other grandmasters will also be playing in the open tournament, including a player who used to rank in the top echelons of world chess.

Yanofsky, Canada’s first grandmaster and a prominent Winnipeg lawyer and city councilor, died in 2000. An annual memorial tournament has been held every year since U.S. grandmaster Arthur Bisguier won the first edition in 2003.

Over the years, many strong players have come to Winnipeg to play in the event, including former Canadian champion Kevin Spraggett, Icelandic grandmaster Helgi Olafsson, and Russian grandmaster Sergei Shipov.

Yermolinsky has been a mainstay of the American chess scene since immigrating there about 20 years ago. In addition to winning the national championship and playing on the U.S. Olympiad team, he has authored two critically-acclaimed chess books.

Normally the Yanofsky Memorial is held on or near the Labour Day weekend, but this year’s event will be earlier. It is set for August 5-7 at the University of Winnipeg. The tournament is open to all, and will be held in two sections.

First prize is set at $1,000, and there will be $2,500 in total prizes. Entry fee is $60 ($50 for Juniors), with a $10 discount for early entry. For more information, or to register, contact Blair Rutter at, or call 256-2353, or email

Format: 5 round Swiss System, Two Sections
Open Section (CFC and FIDE rated)
Under  1800 Section (CFC rated)
Round Times: Friday 7:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m
Time Control: To be indicated
Entry Fee: $ 60
Juniors (under 19 years of age) - $ 50

Early Discount:  $ 10 discount if entered by June 30, 2011
CFC Membership also required (available on site)

Registration:  in advance -
cheques payable to:
Manitoba Chess Association
c/o Blair Rutter
76 Newcroft Rd.
Winnipeg, MB R2J 3M8

or see Tony Boron on Tuesday nights at the TNT tournaments.

No comments: