Friday, January 30, 2015

2015 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

2015 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying -

Manitoba Closed 2015 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2014 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On November 23, 2014, the Board approved continuation of this procedure for 2015) 

Qualifiers -
Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2014 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player did not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continued down the list until there were 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (KEVIN LI)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (non held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900) not held - Kevin Li is defending champion
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (KEVIN GENTES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Nov-Dec) (Kevin Gentes, Sam Lipnowski)
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score) Kevin Gentes
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score)  Kevin Li
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (SAM LIPNOWSKI (on tiebreak)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (Sam Lipnowski)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (JONATHAN ZACZEK)
    12. etc.from the MTPPS  (JEFF BABB, GUSTAV BARON, LEOR WASSERMAN, ANTHONY BORON) (Felix Andraschko is  non-resident per the definition above)

The above players will be contacted to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.

Update as of Jan 31:  All top 8 qualifiers have accepted their invitation Gentes, Li, Zaczek, Lipnowski, Babb, Baron, Wasserman, Boron have accepted.
Next step to determine if there will be any wild-card bids. Deadline will be Feb 7 for those.

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The current top MTPPS scores as of November 21. are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all Manitoba CFC Standard rated tournaments, Canadian Open,  USCF Tournaments, Polish FIDE tournaments ) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

1 Kevin Gentes 24103
2 Kevin Li
3 Samuel Lipnowski 22663
4 Jonathon Zaczek 22571
5 Jeff Babb
6 Gustav Baron 22412
7 Leor Wasserman 22287

Felix Andraschko 22071
8 Anthony Boron 21896
9 Jeff Clark
10 Theo Wolchock 21661
11 Myron Kernetsky 21590
12 James Atem 21512
13 Gustavo Melamedoff 21306
14 Blair Rutter 21182
15 Rolando Bince 21002
16 Waldemar Schulz 20768
17 Jim Green
18 Isaac Wiebe 20101
19 Mick Liebzeit 20031

No comments: