Sunday, November 22, 2015

2016 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update

2016 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying -

Manitoba Closed 2016 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2014 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On November 23, 2014, the Board approved continuation of this procedure for 2015 forward) 

Qualifiers -
Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2015 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (KEVIN GENTES)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  - 
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (KEVIN GENTES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Nov-Dec) 
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score) 
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Modified Tournament Performance Point Score) 
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Babb, Moncal, Baron tied for 2nd, Moncal has only played 4 games)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS 
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  
    12. etc.from the MTPPS 

The above players will be contacted in early January 2016 to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The current top MTPPS scores as of November 1. are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all Manitoba CFC Standard rated tournaments, Canadian Closed,  Montreal Open.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.

Name Total Count Min
Kevin Gentes 23950 10 2342
Isaac Wiebe 22907 10 2213
Gustav L Baron 22333 10 2140
Marcos Valentino 22135 10 2187
Anthony Boron 21706 10 2075
Rolando Bince 21463 10 2059
Leor Wasserman 21447 10 2076
Theo Wolchock 21131 10 1957
Jeff Clark 20964 10 2039
Derek Ma 20661 10 1947
Jim Green 20521 10 1908
Myron Kernetsky 20374 10 1926
Blair Rutter 20257 10 1955
James Atem 20252 10 1916
Brock Beach 20231 10 1807
Jeff Babb 19810 9 2015
Jamie Campbell 19678 10 1804
Phil Le Dorze 19290 10 1785
Ken Einarsson 19124 10 1773

No comments: