Saturday, February 10, 2018

2018 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update

2018 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update  Manitoba Closed 2018 format : 8 player knockout 

(Note: on February 23, 2014 the MCA board approved the adding up to two spots to the the Manitoba Championship at discretion of the Board; if the Board add the two spots, qualifiers 7 and 8  (ordered by CFC rating, along with the new 2 additions will play in a preliminary knockout round, producing two winners who then play with the top six qualifiers by CFC rating. On February 26, 2017, the Board approved a regulation that bidders for the wild-card spots must have a standard rating greater than 1800.) 

Qualifiers -
*Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)

Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2017 in order to qualify. In order of preference - if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.

     1. Previous Year's Champion (GUSTAV BARON)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  -THEO WOLCHOCK)
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (JOJO NONES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Earl Rosenbloom Memorial - to be held in Nov - Dec) RYNE SWIFT, MYRON KERNETSKY
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (ISAAC WIEBE
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Gustav Baron - already qualified ) 
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Isaac Wiebe -already qualified)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (Ryne Swift - already qualified)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (Jojo Nones - see above)
    12.  Player with the 5th best MTPPS (JEFF BABB )
13.  Player with the 6th best MTPPS (TONY BORON )
14.  Player with the 7th best MTPPS (Theo Wolchock-see above)
15. Player with the 8th best MTPPS (Marcos Valentino)
16.  Player with the 9th best MTPPS (Rolando Bince)

The above players (in bold) will be contacted in early 2018 to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.


Myron Kernetsky

A notice soliciting  wild-card bids will be sent out the weekend of January 13

MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]

The top ten performance scores for each player are counted

The 2018 top MTPPS scores at this point are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all CFC Standard rated tournaments, US standard rated tournaments, International FIDE standard rated tournaments etc.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.
23403 Isaac Wiebe
22988 Gustav L Baron
22887 Ryne Swift
22638 Teodulfo Nones
22626 Jeff Babb
22541 Anthony Boron
22326 Theo Wolchock
21923 Marcos Valentino
21634 Rolando Bince
21108 Blair Rutter
20878 Myron Kernetsky
20480 Jim Green
19819 Saul Magnusson
19770 Ken Einarsson
19431 Joshua Gerona

No comments: